South African elephant’s compassion while crossing road


This video from South Africa says about itself:

27 December 2017

Kruger National Park, South Africa

This video is regarding a heartfelt moment between 2 young elephants.

As the herd was crossing the road, one young elephant struggled (way at the back of the herd) to get up an embankment. His mate, who just got up the embankment, saw this and waited for his mate at first. As he approached the struggling mate to help him up, the mate managed to get up and on the road himself. Amazing how close relationships elephants have πŸ™‚

“It was a very large herd, I have no idea how many elephants had already crossed the road before we saw them. I didn’t start videoing straight away as I was driving and very slowly, approaching them to a safe distance, I then took a few photo’s before switching to video. We were on the S3 road between Paul Kruger Gate and Numbi Gate, (before the road junction for Numbi/Phabeni gates). I just wish I had got both of the young elephants together sooner, did you see how the second one curled up his trunk then shook his head as if to say “No, I’m not coming” or “No, I don’t need your help” – video owner/taker, Brian Edge.

You need to watch and listen to the first part of the video to appreciate the last part πŸ™‚