Army ants video


This video says about itself:

Army Ants Rampage Through The Forest – The Hunt – BBC Earth

8 July 2017

Boasting a sensory system of 2 million antennae, this colony of Army Ants are a formidable proposition for anything alive which may cross their path. These dynamic insects, despite being blind, are able to transcend their size by working as a complete unit.

Real Neat Blog Award, congratulations to my twelve nominees!


Real Neat Blog Award

Late in 2014, I made this new award: the Real Neat Blog Award. There are so many bloggers whose blogs deserve more attention. So, I will try to do something about that 🙂

It is the first award that I ever made. I did some computer graphics years ago, before I started blogging; but my computer drawing had become rusty 🙂

The ‘rules’ of the Real Neat Blog Award are: (feel free not to act upon them if you don’t have time; or don’t accept awards; etc.):

1. Put the award logo on your blog.

2. Answer 7 questions asked by the person who nominated you.

3. Thank the people who nominated you, linking to their blogs.

4. Nominate any number of bloggers you like, linking to their blogs.

5. Let them know you nominated them (by commenting on their blog etc.)

My seven questions are:

1. Where do most visits to your blog come from?

2. What is your favourite sport?

3. What has been a special moment for you so far in 2017?

4. What is your favourite quote?

5. What was your favourite class when still at school?

6. Anything you had wished to have learned earlier?

7. What musical instrument have you tried to play?

My nominees are:

1. Excerpts from Evolution

2. Myths of the Mirror

3. Mommy Cook For Me

4. My Instruction Manual

5. Her Mid-Soul Crisis

6. A girl’s verdict on books

7. Emotional queen

8. Life – Rose-tinted!

9. The Robin’s Nest

10. Erdling mit Fernweh

11. Theo Herbots Steunt Amnesty International

12. Collecting Stamps from States of Mind

Trump’s state visit to Britain postponed till 2018


This 29 January 2017 parody music video from Britain is called Donald Trump & Theresa May [who met that week in the USA] – “I Want to Hold Your Hand“.

It is a parody of the Beatles song of that name.

The lyrics are:

DT: Oh yeah, I’ll tell you something – my mother’s from Scotland
TM: Oh really? How very lovely
DT: Mind if I hold your hand?
Both: I want to hold your hand

TM: Oh please say to me you’ve got a nice deal planned
DT: Yeah sure, just give us all the NHS stuff – and let me hold your hand
Both: I want to hold your hand

Both: And when I touch you I feel slightly annoyed
But it just looks so damn good on celluloid

TM: Oh please say to me you won’t withdraw from NATO
DT: Okay, but hold my hand first – it’s like a sweet potato
Both: It’s got the colour and texture of a sweet potato

Both: And when I touch you I think I might be sick
But one must do unpleasant things in politics

DT: Oh yeah, I just signed an order for Muslims to be banned
TM: The BBC might ask you about that – but me, I’ll hold your hand
Both: I want to hold your hand

Translated from Dutch NOS TV today:

The state visit of President Trump to Great Britain has been postponed till 2018. Prime Minister Theresa May was the first government leader to invite the US president shortly after his inauguration in January, but it was not possible to pinpoint a date.

If May and Trump imagine that in 2018 there will be any less opposition to their policies than in 2017, that the anti-Trump demonstrations will be any smaller, then they may be in for a surprise.

Hoopoe in Sweden, video


This September 2013 video is about a hoopoe in Sweden; featuring a house sparrow.

Save Tanzania’s lesser flamingos


This video says about itself:

The Flamingo Factory

29 June 2017

In partnership with BirdLife International‘s global campaign to protect the last remaining breeding area for East Africa’s flamingos – and to support community livelihoods at Lake Natron, Tanzania – director Turk Pipkin and The Nobelity Project take a ten-year look at the East Africa’s greater and lesser flamingos, a migration of millions, that Sir David Attenborough called “The greatest ornithological spectacle on earth.”

To learn more about protecting Lake Natron and supporting local Masai communities, go to www.birdlife.org.

From BirdLife about this today:

The unique ecology at Lake Natron in Tanzania, with its high levels of soda attracting salt-loving algae, the favourite food for the Near-Threatened Lesser Flamingo Phoeniconaias minor, make it their most important breeding site in the world. Lesser Flamingos used to breed at Lake Magadi in Kenya, but heavy soda ash mining poisoned the water and altered the ecology of the lake, turning paradise into a life-threatening site for these pink birds. Flamingos can live for over 50 years in the wild, so many will remember having to uproot and move to Lake Natron, where through the help of supporters like you, BirdLife successfully blocked Tata Chemicals from building a second factory in 2010. Rather than creating a soda ash factory, BirdLife supporters preserved most important ‘Flamingo Factory’!

Despite this, the Tanzanian government still want to build a factory at Lake Natron. Thankfully, BirdLife’s work continues as a result of a new project funded by the UK Government Darwin Initiative. Its aim is to enhance ecotourism in the area, improve local livelihoods and watershed protection and to finally eliminate the threat of a factory, a polluted lake, damaged livelihood and the extinction of Lesser Flamingos.