New Seven Wonders of the World … or are they?

This video is about the Taj Mahal in Agra in India.

From the Christian Science Monitor in the USA:

The New Seven Wonders: The 100 million votes are in. And the Great Wall of China, Rome’s Colosseum, India’s Taj Mahal, as well as three architectural marvels from Latin America are among the new seven wonders of the world chosen in a global poll released on Saturday.

As reported in the June 29 Monitor article, “2,000 years later, global vote to pick world’s new Seven Wonders,” votes were cast by the Internet and cellphone text messages.

Also on the Top 7 list were Jordan’s Petra, Peru’s Machu Picchu, Brazil’s Statue of Christ the Redeemer, and Mexico’s Chichen Itza pyramid, according to Associated Press.

Among the losing landmarks: the Eiffel Tower, Easter Island in the Pacific, the Statue of Liberty, the Acropolis, Russia’s Kremlin, and the Sydney Opera House.

This is, of course, not the only proposal for a new list for seven wonders of the world: there are more, some also including natural wonders.

This new list is all architecture, except for one sculpture. Brazil’s statue of Christ the Redeemer is big, and at a spectacular scenic spot, but is hardly the most beautiful piece of sculpture ever made.

The list from classical antiquity was Mediteranean centered: the Greek world in southeastern Europe, and the parts of northern Africa and western Asia closest to it.

This new list is “global”: three wonders from Latin America, three from Asia, one from Europe. Not totally “global”: no North America, Australasia, and Africa.

Photo gallery: here.

The animals’ stampede through the Mara river is one of nature’s most spectacular events. But now the watercourse is drying up, a sign of the damage being done to Africa’s fragile eco-system: here.

2 thoughts on “New Seven Wonders of the World … or are they?

  1. Gov’t to fund promotion of Dead Sea as 7th natural wonder

    The other finalists include the Grand Canyon, the Galapagos Islands, the Amazon rain forest, and the Great Barrier Reef.

    8 May 11 16:54, Globes’ correspondent

    The cabinet today allocated NIS 8.75 million to promote the Dead Sea as one of the Seven Wonders of Nature. The measure was led by the Prime Minister’s Office and the Ministry of Tourism. The Dead Sea is a joint Israeli-Jordanian-Palestinian candidate.

    It is one of 28 finalists from among 420 candidates. The finalists include the Grand Canyon, the Galapagos Islands, the Amazon rain forest, and the Great Barrier Reef.

    The Prime Minister’s Office cites the following reasons for the Dead Sea’s inclusion on the list: it is the lowest place in the world; the world’s saltiest sea; and it is unique in terms of geography, geology, history, religion, and health benefits.

    The competition will end on November 11, 2011. The Prime Minister’s Office expects one billion to vote in the competition, and says that 300-400 million votes will be needed for the Dead Sea to be chosen.

    Published by Globes [online], Israel business news – – on May 8, 2011


  2. Pingback: French workers’ mass anti-austerity fight | Dear Kitty. Some blog

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.