More Zemanta possibilities on my blog


This video is called Best Related Post Plugin For WordPress – Zemanta.

As I said before, there is Zemanta on my blog.

One option of Zemanta which I did not use until today was the Preferences option.

On the right of the Zemanta box, if one’s blog is in Visual mode, one can click on Preferences.

Then, a new window opens. There one can add either one’s own other blogs, or ‘blogs by others’ to one’s Preferences.

If you have managed to link these URL’s, next time you write a blog post in Visual mode, then you will be able to choose between Zemanta’s suggested links, and links from your own Preferences sites.

You can add URL’s either of blogs in the strict sense, or of many other Internet sites.

My first experience today was a bit complex: you can add Mongabay.com, but not Greenpeace. You can add British anarchist site Libcom.org, but not United States anarchist site Infoshop.org. A bit mysterious.

Still, I consider this an improvement to my blog possibilities.

5 thoughts on “More Zemanta possibilities on my blog

  1. Hey, thanks for the good news about our service, we’re glad you got your way to those ‘My Sources’ section (as we like to call it).

    I’ve also checked those two blogs that you weren’t able to add to your sources and found out that the second link (Infoshop.org) does not have a working RSS feed, which makes it impossible for our service to grab their articles, I’m afraid to say.

    As for that first link — in some rare occasions, our aggregator has some difficulties to find the correct RSS feed URL, which is probably why you got that ‘Invalid feed’ error message. But if you enter it manually, then it should work. Here’s the correct RSS feed URL:

    http://feeds.feedburner.com/GreenpeaceNews

    Let me know if this works for you or if you have any other questions what-so-ever, since I’ll gladly help! Here’s my email address: support[at]zemanta[dot]com

    Take care & have a nice day!

    Best,
    Silvo

    • Hi Silvo, thanks for your comment! I will try your suggestion about the RSS of Greenpeace and other sites.

      By the way, yesterday evening something weird started at WordPress. If you start a new blog post or edit an old one from your blog’s home page, then you get an editing screen with much less options than there should be, like no proofreading, no Zemanta ‘My Sources’, etc.

      If you start a new blog post or edit an old one from your WordPress dashboard, like at ‘Posts’, then everything works fine …

      I wonder what causes this?

      • Hey, thanks for getting back to me, appreciate your response!

        But since I cannot get a clear picture of what’s going on in your compose-new-post page, would you please be so kind and grab a screenshot of it and send it to my email address? I’d really appreciate it if I could have a closer look at it.

        Here’s my email address: support[at]zemanta[dot]com

        Let me know what’s up & I’ll do my best to help you out! Take care & I’m looking forward to your reply!

        Best,
        Silvo

Leave a Reply

