6 thoughts on “Bahrain regime’s killing, resistance, continue

  1. How a love affair with Bahrain turned sour!

    Posted on » Saturday, October 06, 2012

    Further to ‘falling in love’ with the beautiful island of Bahrain during my first trip to the country in 1992, I became a resident in 1994. I then got married and two of my children were born in Juffair. During all my years here, I have always contributed to the local society by respecting the Bahraini culture and by constantly praising it to other Westerners. I even opened my own business and provided employment to several local people.

    Taken in by the country’s ‘business friendly’ flagship, I decided early 2008 to invest all my savings in a commercial property project. The project was promoted by a local property developer.

    After signing a sales agreement for the purchase of one commercial unit and paying three instalments totalling BD 47,385 I noticed on October 2008 that the building’s construction had totally stopped.

    Despite repetitive attempts to get a straight answer from the developer (through letters, which were never acknowledged), I reluctantly hired a solicitor in 2009 in order to help me recover my investment.

    Despite sending several letters to the developer, my solicitor never managed to get any straight answer. They totally refuted the fact that halting the construction of the project was a blatant breach of contract.

    We reached a stage when, unfortunately, there was no other option but to go to court.

    At this stage, my solicitor who was a UK-educated Bahraini, had the honesty to tell me that the local judicial system did not account for such property disputes and that my chances to get my money back were quasi inexistent.

    Not deterred by such a demoralising statement, I changed solicitor.

    The case was taken by a senior legal adviser who was very happy to take my case (and my money).

    Prior to paying BD 3,630, I was told that it would cover all payments towards the entire legal process including their firm’s costs and the court’s fees.

    Despite being told that they were ‘sure to win the case’, I struggled for two more years, wasting more time and energy talking to the law firm who ended up telling me that, in order to process my case further, I would have to pay another BD 1,250 to cover the cost of an arbitrator.

    After hearing such shocking news, I told them that I was not willing to pay anything else than the costs initially quoted by them for the complete process.

    Not receiving any positive response, I have asked them to refund my BD3,630 but they are now totally ignoring my emails and letters.

    Thinking I could find someone who cares about the country’s reputation, I even contacted the Bahrain Embassy in London but they told me there was absolutely nothing they could help me with

    So, from this angle, it looks like pretty much as if foreign investments gather as much support and respect from the Bahraini judicial system and from the country’s diplomatic channels as if I was dealing with a ‘banana republic’!

    Although, on a Kafkaesque perspective, my story is probably entertaining, on a personal side I feel very bitter about such a situation where a country like Bahrain is happy to take Westerners’ money by claiming to be a legitimate investment haven, but in reality is no safer than a rogue state.

    I still hope that, by reading my story, some of the country’s officials will decide to get this ‘misunderstanding’ sorted and will help me recover my family’s savings.

    I will slowly continue my plight even if it leads to the International Court of Justice in La Hague, as it is not only a rogue property developer who is at fault; it is the entire country’s judicial system. Name and address supplied

    http://www.gulf-daily-news.com/NewsDetails.aspx?storyid=339158

  2. Bahrain Shiite activist Rajab on hunger strike

    (AFP) – 4 hours ago

    DUBAI — Bahraini Shiite rights activist Nabeel Rajab has gone on hunger strike, a local rights group said Saturday, just two days after he was briefly released from jail to attend his mother’s funeral.

    Rajab, 48, who is serving a three-year sentence for participating in illegal demonstrations, was allowed out of jail for one day to bury his mother.

    After the funeral, Rajab was taken back into custody and barred from attending the three-day condolence gathering where friends and relatives pay their respects.

    “In protest against this unjustified punishment, (Rajab) started a full hunger strike (on Friday),” said the Bahrain Centre for Human Rights (BCHR).

    In a comment posted on Twitter, Bahraini rights lawyer Mohammed al-Jishi said “Rajab’s hunger strike is an expected reaction since he’s being denied his lawful and humane right to attend his mum’s funeral.”

    Bahrain authorities say Rajab was barred from attending the condolence gathering because he “committed violations” at the funeral.

    “Rajab was released briefly to attend his mother’s funeral on humanitarian grounds,” the authorities said in a statement, but he “violated the terms of his release and delivered a speech inciting mourners to stage illegal protests”.

    “Because of his actions, Rajab has had the privilege to attend further mourning gatherings revoked,” the authorities said.

    The BCHR said that Rajab called on mourners to “continue their struggle for rights and democracy,” and argued his speech was a “peaceful expression of opinion.”

    The next hearing in Rajab’s appeal is set for October 16.

    The courts have merged Rajab’s three separate cases of “incitement and illegal assembly” into one single appeal.

    The activist led anti-government protests following a crackdown on Shiite-led demonstrations against the Sunni Al-Khalifa regime in March 2011.

    Bahrain continues to witness sporadic Shiite-led protests that have often spiralled into clashes with police.

    According to Amnesty International, since the protests first began in February 2011, at least 60 people have been killed.

    Copyright © 2012 AFP

  3. Pingback: Bahraini human rights violations | Dear Kitty. Some blog

  4. Pingback: Bahrain dictatorship, resistance continue | Dear Kitty. Some blog

Leave a Reply

